Friday, October 11, 2013

Pusha T - "Nosetalgia" w/ Kendrick Lamar

KRS-One's admonition from "The Bridge is Over" — "you better change what comes out your speakers" — flickers until his moan steps out of the shadows and arches from one side of the track to the other. What these two musicians are after is nothing less than the belt. And what they use to get it is an analogy that juxtaposes the coke-dealing game with their own battles for artistic supremacy.

My Name Is My Name is the solo debut studio album by American hip hop recording artist Pusha T, one half of the hip hop duo Clipse. The album was released on October 8, 2013 under GOOD Music and Def Jam Recordings. In promotion of the album, Pusha T released the mixtape Fear of God and the EP Fear of God II: Let Us Pray in 2011, along with collaborating on the GOOD Music compilation album Cruel Summer in 2012. He also released another mixtape Wrath of Caine in early 2013.

"Nosetalgia" contains samples of "The Bridge Is Over", written by Scott La Rock and Lawrence Parker, and performed by Boogie Down Productions; samples of "(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don't Want to Be Right", written by Homer Banks, Carl Hampton and Raymond Jackson, and performed by Bobby Bland; and samples of "Do You Like Scratchin'", written by Trevor Horn and Malcolm McLaren, and performed by Malcolm McLaren.

No comments: