Friday, November 2, 2012

The Naked And Famous - "Young Blood" (2010)

Directed by Joel Kefali and Campbell Hooper of Special Problems.

The Naked and Famous are a New Zealand post-punk revival band from Auckland. They formed in 2008 when Thom Powers and Alisa Xayalith recorded two EPs with engineer Aaron Short, a fellow student at Auckland's MAINZ music college.

The group then set about recording the single "Young Blood" and their debut album, recording mostly at home and at Auckland studio, The Lab. The Naked and Famous released their debut studio album, Passive Me, Aggressive You, on September 6, 2010 on their own label, Somewhat Damaged. The album was produced by Thom Powers and Aaron Short and mixed by Billy Bush. "Young Blood" is set in the key of F#, and follows the chord progression of B–F♯–B–F♯–C♯–B–F♯–B–D♯min–C♯.

"Young Blood" debuted on the New Zealand chart at number one on June 14, 2010 – the first New Zealand artist in three years to do so. In Australia, "Young Blood" peaked at number twenty-six on the ARIA Singles Chart, while in Austria it appeared for ten weeks on the Ö3 Austria Top 40, reaching number fifty-three. The song made number fifty-nine on the Dutch Mega Single 100, lasting five weeks.

On September 8, 2010 "Young Blood" won the APRA Silver Scroll, a New Zealand peer-judged songwriting award. On December 6, 2010, the BBC announced that The Naked and Famous had been nominated for BBC's Sound of 2011 poll. In 2011, the band garnered six nominations at the New Zealand Music Awards for Album of the Year, Single of the Year, Best Group, Breakthrough Artist of the Year, Best Alternative Album and the People's Choice Award. They were also nominated for the NZ On Air Best Music Video and won the MAINZ Best Engineer Award and the MAINZ Best Producer Award.

No comments: